Home HockeyBuzz Register Login
"Blogging the Canucks and NHL"
Burnaby, BC • Canada • 2 Years Old • Male
The NHL announced its nominees for their annual year-end awards, Roberto Luongo was nominated for three awards and Alain Vigneault was nominated for coach of the year.

Luongo were among the nominees for the Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team), Lester B. Pearson Award (most outstanding player as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA), and the Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender).

Alain Vigneault along Lindy Ruff (Buffalo), and Michel Therrien (Pittsburgh) were nominated for the Jack Adams Trophy.

CALDER MEMORIAL TROPHY (outstanding rookie): Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins; Jordan Staal, Pittsburgh Penguins; Paul Stastny, Colorado Avalanche.

FRANK J. SELKE TROPHY (outstanding defensive forward): Rod Brind'Amour, Carolina Hurricanes; Samuel Pahlsson, Anaheim Ducks; Jay Pandolfo, New Jersey Devils.

HART MEMORIAL TROPHY (most valuable player to his team): Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils; Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins; Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks.

JACK ADAMS AWARD (outstanding coach): Lindy Ruff, Buffalo Sabres; Michel Therrien, Pittsburgh Penguins; Alain Vigneault, Vancouver Canucks.

JAMES NORRIS MEMORIAL TROPHY (outstanding defenseman): Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings; Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks; Chris Pronger, Anaheim Ducks.

LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct): Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings; Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche; Martin St. Louis , Tampa Bay Lightning.

LESTER B. PEARSON AWARD (most outstanding player as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA): Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins; Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning; Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks.

VEZINA TROPHY (outstanding goaltender): Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils; Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames; Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers; Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks.

May 1, 2007 6:43 PM ET | Delete
On another note, Marty Turco was left off the list of nominees (yet again!), must have been a call that the referee's made? LOL! That's for you Dallas Fans! LOL!
May 2, 2007 1:46 AM ET | Delete
You should know the only awards we get are Jere's Selke's! I think you're Vezina nominee is awesome...but he's about to lose his first playoff series! And then we start all over...I sure hope we get another crack at you guys next year!
May 2, 2007 9:26 AM ET | Delete
I hope that we get a crack at these Crazy Canucks also next season...As I think we will just tear them apart...Roberto might be a good regular season goalie, but he is not made for playoffs..That being said, the Canucks will NEVER win a cup with him in the goal...On the other hand, MARTY showed that he is a great playoffs goalie, by shutting out the Canucks three times in one series..
Leave a Comment
You must be logged in to leave a comment.