Home HockeyBuzz Register Login

Goal or No Goal?

Posted 11:06 PM ET | Comments 6
The Sabres won Game 4 by a score of 4-2. However, when it was 3-2 Sabres, the Isles put the puck in the net. The refs ruled no goal on the ice and Toronto also ruled no goal. However, was this the right call? I am a Sabres fan, so I want to believe it was the correct call. But there have been too many occasions where the Sabres have been screwed by bad calls for me not to question the call. Honestly, from the views I had, I could not tell when the puck crossed the line or if it crossed before the whistle blew. Then there was the fact that it appeared Miller was pushed into the net. But again, I wasn't sure if this happened before or after the puck went in. I guess I mostly agree with the no goal call because I could not tell for myself (given the replays available on MSG). In any case, the Sabres responded well and scored a 4th goal to seal the win. Does anyone know why the goal did not count or have evidence to show it was (not) a goal?
Filed Under:   sabres   islanders   no goal  
April 18, 2007 11:17 PM ET | Delete
no goal rule 69 can push a goalie into the net
April 18, 2007 11:34 PM ET | Delete
i thought they would count it as a goal, but it's nice that buffalo is getting some breaks for once.
April 19, 2007 1:06 AM ET | Delete
no goal. on the replay it looked like either 1) miller had it and he was pushed into the net or 2) an islander had his body on it and shoved it into the net with his glove.either way, it was in NO way stick-on-puck. i was surprised that there wasn't goalie interference called on the play, actually.
April 19, 2007 7:13 AM ET | Delete
The main problem was is that there was no sight of the puck until after the whistle was blown. Personally I do think the puck was in the net before the whistle blew, however, that is not how the system works. Its not where you think the puck is, its where is the puck......since it didn't show up until after the whistle was blown and the ref initially waved it off. No goal.Not the greatest way for this series to go with two contested goals like this but that is just the way it goes.....
April 19, 2007 8:03 AM ET | Delete
It was not reviewed by Toronto because it is not a reviewable call by Toronto. The on-ice officials ruled Miller was pushed into the net and the play is dead. I agree that this probably should be a goal. I also agree that Brett Hulls Cup winner in '99 should have been a goal. Interpretation of the rules in effect say they are both not goals - so in my opinion the Sabres are 50/50 on these types of calls. (Note: LeClaire's "goal" never went into the net, so it shouldn't have been a goal regardless of the rules. A different situation altogether. The Sabres are 0/1 on these types of calls.)
April 19, 2007 8:58 AM ET | Delete
Looked like a goal... but the Buffalo Karma has swayed!
Leave a Comment
You must be logged in to leave a comment.